Reaching Readers with NoveList Plus

NoveListNoveList Plus is an exceptional resource you can turn to whenever you’d like to find a new book for a patron (or for yourself!) There are a variety of tools in NoveList that it make it easy to find a great book to match any reading interest or level. Here are some that I like to use:

Best Seller Read-Alikes: Best sellers are great–everyone wants to read them and tons of people are talking about them, but they can be difficult to keep on the shelves. This is one reason it’s great that when you first come to NoveList, you’re greeted by a carousel of current best sellers…

Best sellers and their peers

Underneath each one is a list of books that are thematically related. Readers interested in the best selling title (including those who loved the book, and those still patiently waiting on a hold list to finally get their grubby little mitts on it) are are sure to enjoy these read-alike titles.

Book Read-Alikes: What if a patron loved a book that’s not a current best seller? Well, if you pull up its record in NoveList, chances are you’ll find a slew of similar works that are just as compelling, as in this entry for Gardens of the Moon:

noveListRead-alikesBookView

Now, if none of those titles grabs your reader, you’re not out of luck. Each book in NoveList has a variety of subject, stylistic, and thematic elements associated with it. When you’re looking at a book, you can select any number of these and then do a search for matching titles. Here’s an example:

noveListSearchForSimilar

If your reader enjoyed the fact that this was a gruesome and darkly humorous piece of fantasy fiction, you can do a search on those facets, discovering that they might also enjoy Darren Shan’s Hunters of the Dusk, Tanya Huff’s Blood series, and the curiously titled Zombie Versus Fairy Featuring Albinos, as well as pretty much everything that Steven Erikson ever wrote.

Author Read-Alikes: If you have a patron who loves an author, but has read their entire canon, you can search for a read-alike author. One way to start his search is to select Author Read-alikes under More (in the navbar depicted below).

noveListNavigation

For example, if you pull up the entry for Jonathan Lethem, you will get a nice write up about his work and style, a number of recommended similar authors, and the reasons why a reader might also enjoy those authors. Splendid! It turns out I’m inclined to savor the works of Michael Chabon, Dave Eggers, Don DeLillo, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Philip K. Dick. How’d they know?

Series Authority: What if you have a patron reading a series and you need to find out what title comes next? NoveList goes to great lengths to keep series work simple. You can search by series from their ubiquitous search box, like so:

noveListSeriesSearch

Once you’ve snagged the proper series name, you’ll be rewarded with an overview of it and every book in the series listed in sequence. WorldCat, eat my shorts! Now, if you’re looking to just find a new series, you could also click on Series in the navbar, and then click the Genre tab. A smorgasbord of epic tales awaits you!

Award Winners and Notable Books: NoveList also contains find a comprehensive catalog of award-winning books. Simply select Awards/Notable Books under More in the navbar. As it turns out, there is an insane number of different awards doled out to the books we love. Chances are you’ll be best served by first selecting a genre, like Westerns, instead of toiling through their alphabetical master list. If you then select an award, such as the Western Heritage Award for Outstanding Western Novel, you’ll see a list of all the books that have won it, complete with links to more information about each book. Yeehaw!

Book Talks: If you’ve ever been faced with the task of motivating a reluctant reader, you know how daunting it can be. NoveList can once again come to your rescue with its collection of Book Talks (also found under the More tab in the navbar–how useful!) These are ultra-compelling synopses that are sure to hook the imaginations of young adults and leave them desperate to find out what happens next. Of course, they’ll need to check out the book for that…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s